City Council Members

Rod Sonnichsen (East Ward)- President 

Neal Neth (West Ward) 

Chris Myers (East Ward) 

Jacob Holcomb (West Ward)


The City Council, as the governing body of Broken Bow, is responsible for consideration of any matters brought to its attention or initiated by the body, staff or public. The four council members represent two city wards and are elected by their ward on a staggered basis for four-year terms.

A City Council meeting involves making and amending laws, developing policy, and making decisions for the governing of Broken Bow. The Council adopts ordinances and resolutions, approves the general goals and policies of the City, authorizes budgetary appropriations, and approves the appointment of various offices.

A resolution generally states a position or policy of the City. An ordinance is a local law that usually regulates persons or property and usually relates to a matter of a general and permanent nature. Therefore, an ordinance is more formal and authoritative than a resolution.

The City Council meets in regular session on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 12:00 p.m. noon in the Council Chambers, City Hall, 314 South 10th Avenue.Special meetings of the council may be called by the mayor or at least four members of the council.